SmartEdit Writer · SmartEdit for Word · Help

SmartEdit Forums

Request for additional Research Tree function

This request has to do with the Research Tree function of SmartEdit Writer. As it says in the manual “inside the research tree you can also add files, PDF documents, images, and bookmarks to websites and webpages.

I am finding it a real drawback that I cannot add a bookmark/reference/link to documents (such as Word documents, PDF documents) resident on my computer, instead of adding a copy of the original into my project files. I am not a programmer, but I cannot understand why SmartEdit has no problem adding a hyperlink to the web, but cannot add a hyperlink to files on your computer. This feature exists within Scrivener, where it is called ‘References’ (“The References table allows you to hold links to related material within the project itself, elsewhere on your hard drive or on the Internet”), and its use has become an integral part of my work style.
I tried adding the full path name to a file on my computer into the text field of the website bookmark, eg
file:///D:/AAA MY FILES/MyDocs_WRITING/FATA MORGANA/People/Joseph Rogers (1830 - 1899)/Royal Charter.pdf
but it didn’t work. Surprise, surprise. :grinning:

Darren, is there any way you can add this functionality to the research tree? It would make a huge difference to my productivity, as I have my own huge library of books documents and research on my computer, to which I would like to quickly refer as I am progressing through my fictional work. And I really would like to migrate all my current work to SmartEdit Writer from Scrivener, which I find overcomplicated as well as expensive, and updates for its PC version keep getting postponed time after time. As you said in one of your blogs, your intention was not to design a tool which did everything for everyone, but a bespoke program which did not get in the way of the creative process. (And you’re getting pretty damn close.)