SmartEdit Writer · SmartEdit for Word · Help

SmartEdit Forums

Full screen, custom shortcut keys, and selecting multiple scenes?

Hello there,
I’m brand new to this tool (and site), so forgive me if the below questions have been asked before. I’m trying to find out whether SEW might be a good alternative for me because of several issues with a certain competitor tool. So far, the lightweight interface all looks good and, given that I’m a regular user of Word, this seems to be a suitable tool. I haven’t been able to figure out the following yet though:

1. Full-screen mode: There doesn’t seem to be a quick option (F11 doesn’t do anything, and I can’t find anything in the menu). I’ve been able to simulate full-screen mode by simply hiding the left and right panes as well as the menu bar. That’d be good enough for me, and I like that I can quickly display the document structure via F6 even in this simulated full-screen mode. However, when I then (even just accidentally) click on a notes item in the document tree, it opens the Notes pane on the right and there’s no simple way to make it go away quickly. I’ll have to bring back the menu bar and click on the button there. Can this be fixed by giving the Notes pane its own shortcut key so I can make it appear/disappear just like the Document and Research panes? Or is a true full-screen mode already planned? Or is there a way to assign custom shortcut keys so I can make the interface behave the way I prefer myself?